Prime Time

“Where the hell are you, Brian?!!!!”

Brian pauses, checks his watch.  Tick, Tick, Tick.  Now.

“I’m 24 miles south of Dallas on I-35.”

Gary’s voices  rises to panic mode.

“WHAT THE FUCK!!!  You are due here in 10 minutes.  10 FUCKING MINUTES!  Turn your ass around now!”

Tick, tick, tick, tick, tick, tick, Now.

“I’m SO SORRY, Gary.  You know about my disability. I’m doing the best I can.  I’ll be there as soon as possible.”

“Well it’s not good enough, Brian.  The client will be here any minute and we are counting on your presentation.”

The conversation is over.  Brian, continues watching the mile markers and exit signs.  422, exit 421A…Come on…almost there…420. He glances at his watch, 10:15.  gonna make it this time…I’ve GOT to!  420 10:16… 419 10:17…ohhh that’s a prime..418…Exit sign for 417!!! oooooooohhhhh!  10:18…10:18…exit 417….ohhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!! 10:19 and exit 417 PRIMES!!!!!  Yes….EXIT NOW!!!!

“Yeah Gary?  It’s Brian.”

“Of course it’s BRIAN, you dumb fuck!  Where the fuck are you now?”

“I did it, Gary!  I exited the interstate.  I did it!!”

“You what?!  You called me to tell me you just exited?!!  HOLY FUCK!  Get back on the road and get back here!”

“Ok, boss.”

Next prime time, 10:23.  And I’m still at the prime mile marker!   BONUS!!

About davidwburns

I like to write. I have a job. This is a flash bio. View all posts by davidwburns

2 responses to “Prime Time

Leave a Reply

